# **SLMUN 2022**

## A COMMENDABLE PERFORMANCE







The fifteenth session of the Sri Lanka Model United Nations 2022 Conference (SLMUN 2022) was held at the BMICH on the 17<sup>th</sup> and 18<sup>th</sup> September 2022.

This year's conference consisted of the largest number of delegates at an MUN Conference in Sri Lanka, with over 700 delegates attending from schools all over the country.

The CIS delegation was truly a diverse, well-rounded and hard-working group of young students, with representatives from grades 8 to 13 taking part. For many delegates and IPC members it was their very first conference, giving them an exciting experience of the world of MUN, diplomacy and debate. In their committees, the CIS delegates debated with much vigour; presented solutions to various world problems; lobbied with other delegates and managed to tenaciously hold their own against the competition.

The vast experience and skill of the CIS MUN Society's President, Chethye Karunasena, and Secretary, Varshan Dayapathy, were remarkable as they were selected to be the Vice-President of the World Health Organization and the Vice-President of the Futuristic Security Council respectively - particular congratulations to them on this significant achievement.

The following students were participants of the CIS delegation:

- YEAR 8: Akshaj Pandey, Sharushan Dayapathy
- YEAR 9: Anya Vithanage, Chelaka Jayasekara, Dinuk De Silva Jayarathne, Shanutha Wickramasinghe
- YEAR 10: Akein Bandara, Navik Weerawardana, Nikhil Pieris
- YEAR 11: Girinaath Aravind, Jennelle Fernando, Tashya Fernando, Saarvesh Ravindran
- YEAR 12: Saveesha Hettiarachchi, Prabhashi Jayamanne
- YEAR 13: Agyeya Negi, Dilan Kannangara, Diluk Tilakumara, Kushani Beneregama, Fathema Idris

The following students were included in the CIS IPC delegation:

YEAR 9 : Anah YehiyaYEAR 11 : Soomin Lee

YEAR 12: Leenah Wahab

YEAR 13 : Suha Farook

#### **AWARD WINNERS – CIS DELEGATES**

CIS performed admirably throughout the conference, achieving a multitude of awards that recognised their skill, knowledge and work ethic.

#### **UNITED NATIONS SPECIALIZED GENERAL ASSEMBLY (UNSGA)**

AWARD : Higher CommendationDELEGATE : AKEIN BANDARA ( USA )

## **WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION (WHO)**

• AWARD : Honorary Mention

DELEGATE: SAVEESHA HETTIARACHCHI ( USA )

## **UNITED NATIONS HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR REFUGEES (UNHCR)**

AWARD : Best Working Paper

DELEGATE: SAARVESH RAVINDRAN ( USA )

AWARD : Best Delegate

• **DELEGATE**: SAARVESH RAVINDRAN ( USA )

#### **FUTURISTIC SECURITY COUNCIL (FSC)**

• AWARD : Honorary Mention

DELEGATE : Agyeya Negi ( USA )

## **INTERNATIONAL PRESS CORPS**

AWARD : Best News Agency

DELEGATE : Lee Soomin – BBC

AWARD : Best Journalist

DELEGATE : Lee Soomin - BBC

## **AWARD WINNERS – PRIVATE DELEGATES**

## <u>UNITED NATIONS SPECIALIZED GENERAL ASSEMBLY (UNSGA)</u>

AWARD : Best Working Paper

DELEGATE: SOURIISH RAVINDRAN ( USA )

• AWARD : Best Delegate

DELEGATE: SOURIISH RAVINDRAN (Belarus)